Back to the stories about our adventure from the beginning of this year.

Link to TIMELINE of our 62 days long journey🙂

03.02.2013. GRAZ – MARIBOR – ZAGREB : DAY 34

Our short stay in Graz was lovely in a great company of our host.

Digital StillCameraAfter a quick breakfast she walked with us to the bus station where we  took a bus to the hitchhiking spot. We took a goodbye photo before leaving🙂

Digital StillCameraOn the way to the bus I have seen a Bosnian food place with the name of my birth city🙂 Sarajevo was still a place to visit on our route and this reminded me how excited I am about it. I haven’t seen it for 9 years and I was looking forward to meet some family and friends.

Digital StillCameraHitchhiking spot was bad or we were just unlucky, so after more then two hours, I decided to go back to main train station center and hope on S-Bahn that would take me nearby Slovenian border where hopefully we will have more luck getting a ride.

Digital StillCameraWhile we were waiting Evelyn got a nice treat and she fully enjoyed it

Digital StillCameraWhen we got there, there wasn’t much traffic so we went on a another train for a short ride to Maribor. I had to ask a conducter to let us travel for free as I didn’t had enough money for ticket and I had to save some for food too.

Digital StillCameraShe wasn’t too happy, but she let us go to Maribor.

At this stage I was already getting very stressed about not making it on time to Zagreb and I am sure that this unnecessary stress affected our luck with hitching a ride that day.

This whole trip couldn’t be really planned in any details as I only had a route in mind but without any arragments in advance of how we will travel and where we will stay. And it was working great for us as I wasn’t stressing at all about when I will arrive to the next city, up until this day when I put a pressure on myself trying to get asap to Zagreb.

At the end I relaxed after exchanging few messages with my friend Danijel who was waiting for me.

Digital StillCamera Digital StillCameraAnother try to hitchike was not successful so eventuallyI got a ticket for a local train to Zidani most, where we got Intercity train to Zagreb. Another talk to the conducter and a little longer chat with Slovenian border police who were not happy that I stayed few days longer in EU over the limit of 3 months for tourists. But at then end they decided not to fine me. I didn’t even realized I broke some rule until they mentioned it.

Digital StillCamera

So finally after all day on the road we were in Zagreb and I was very happy to meet my dear friend Danijel at his workplace in “Dom nade” ( House of Hope) where I shared stories from the trip so far and got all the news about the project of DAILY CARE CENTER for homeless in Zagreb.

More about that project you can read on a blog of our non-profit association.

Please  have a look at the link  DOM NADE