01.02.2013. VIENNA

Sorry for lack of photos from this day as I have forgot camera at my host place😛

A day started with a surprise🙂 but we got used to them on our journey…

Previous night I came home on my own as my host left me keys and he stayed out.

So I am fast asleep when the bell rings and I get up thinking its my host. So I press the button to open the door donwstairs and I leave the flat door opened too as I go for my morning pee.And then a couple walks in as I am coming out of toilet and they greeted me as I am the host. They were from Poland and also couchsurfers😛

So after some explanation and laughs we spend morning together and then Ash,the real host, arrived.

article_1968_augustin-liebhaber_innen-_160It was our second day in Vienna and time to visit the organization that is publishing a street magazine and also running a radio and TV shows related to the problem of homelessness in Vienna.

article_2196_aug_340_cover_180The organization and the street magazine is called AUGUSTIN and in the afternoon we went to see them hoping that someone will be available for a talk.

When I arrived to reception they told me that someone might have 15 minutes for me as they were very busy preparing the new edition of their papers.
It was cool to see that they publish two issues per month.

I was welcomed by very nice gentleman and at the end we talked for an hour as he shared a lot about their work and I shared some of my ideas and stories about other organizations I met during this trip.

AUGUSTIN is an organization that has started publishing in 1995. With such a long existence they have gained a lot of local support. As their magazine sales have gone down during last year they have asked a local community for direct monthly support to their organization and the RESPONSE was amazing. They have asked for 333 contributors to make a monthly commitment to support their work. And in two weeks they received more then 600 offers. So now they have a waiting list for people who would like to contribute in the future.

They were pleasantly SURPRISED with this response and it was a good indicator how much their work is VALUED in Vienna.

I have to mention that besides the magazine they also produce a radio show and a TV show. In both media they are focusing on social problems, mainly homelessness.

He was very kind to offer me copies of their older magazines and I took 3 copies including their FIRST issue🙂

It was a pleasure visiting them and I hope in the future we will have opportunity to do some projects together.

Digital StillCameraThe day has finished with a very enjoyable few drinks with our new Polish friends and our mutual host Ash. Evelyn and her new friend got a lot of attention in a bar we went too🙂

IMGP1465Just to remind you that I am VOLUNTEER in a small organization from Zagreb that is called DOM NADE or HOUSE of HOPE and we have just started OUR BLOG yesterday.

We will try to share all the work we do and connect to as many people around the world who are passionate about SOCIAL PROJECTS.