Digital StillCameraWe woke up happy to be together again and after I shared breakfast with the host he took us for a walk around town before going to a hitchhiking spot to BRATISLAVA.

Digital StillCameraDigital StillCameraEvelyn played with his dog while we had a good chat and Jozef took me for a beer and Borovicka in what looked like a newsagent.

It seems to be a place where many people come for a short break as the prices are very low (
0.60euro for each). Quite dangerous if you have an alcohol problem.

Digital StillCameraThen Jozef walked with us to a good hitchhiking spot for Bratislava and we got a ride in less then 30 minutes.

Digital StillCameraI have arranged in advance a meeting with someone from PROTI PRUDU organization that is doing a lot of work with homeless in BRATISLAVA.

Digital StillCamera

marec-2013-titulka

I have purchased their magazine NOTA BENE the day before while searching for Evelyn.

It is a monthly magazine that focuses on social issues and it is sold by street vendors which receive half of the money for all the magazines they sell.

As I was on my way there, my meeting was cancelled as the person I was supposed to meet had an emergency with one of the clients.

I decided to visit their office anyway and just get as much information as possible.

Digital StillCameraAnd I was very lucky as a gentleman who was working at the desk has offered me a coffee and we started to chat.

Digital StillCameraAt the end he was very helpful and I had to chance to have a look around as he was talking about different aspects of their work.

He showed me the computer room where there clients can use the internet and they also provide IT workshops.

 

 

Digital StillCameraTheir clients are able to receive all the mail in the office of Proti Prudu as they obviously don’t have a permanent address.

Digital StillCameraTheir is a daily living room where they can socialize and it is also occasionaly used for presentations or screening of movies.

obalka_jelaI was pleasantly surprised when he gave me their newest published book called “ZÁZRAČNÉ DIEŤA” that was written by a lady who lived for most of her life on the street and she has also been suffering from mental illness. She writes in the book about her life and experiences in different mental hospitals with honesty and criticism of the system. I will make an effort to read as it is in Slovakian, a language I am only starting to know.

This was already their fourth book published and they also published audiobooks and music cd’s. He was kind to give me one of these two and two booklets about their past projects in Slovakia.

There is also a theather called Divadlo bez domova (Theather without home)

This project was started by PROTI PRUDU organization but now it is running independently but still with the support from organization. Currenlty they are showing a play based on a book “ZÁZRAČNÉ DIEŤA”.

Digital StillCameraAs I was saying goobye we all witnessed one of their cars being damaged as the snow has fallen from the roof.

I was very happy to learn about their work and grateful for all the material they gave me.

Digital StillCameraWe then went to say goodbye to Janka in her office and thank her again for all the help. Evelyn had a good time playing there with few treats that she got🙂

It was already evening when I tried to hitchhike to Vienna, unfortunately the spot that was recommended on Hitchwiki.org just wasn’t busy enough at that time of night so I had to ask Jozef to stay an extra night in TRNAVA and thankfully he was very kind to accept us even though we came late at night.

That was the end of another exciting day on our adventure.