We left Prague airport around 7am after sleeping for 5 hours on a bench in waiting area.

I had a list of places in mind to visit and I was hoping to interview some of the people working in these organizations.

But it was one of those days when it will not be possible as I didn’t have an appointment made in advance.

First we went to NADAJE center for youth. There I spoke to a young volunteer, but he explained to me that I will have to contact their office to speak to someone about their work. I took the address and decided to visit them later if I get a chance.

IMGP1402Then I walked again to the boat shelter I saw night before. When I arrived there, the young man on reception was very busy and he wasn’t speaking English and when I asked about anyone else available to talk to me in English he said no. I realised that he is just too busy and he doesn’t have time to deal with someone who is not directly using their services.

IMGP1404Last place I had marked on the map was Armady spasa(Salvation army) shelter. Their I managed to talk to one of the officers and she gave me email address of the director of that branch. He was away that day so it wouldn’t be possible to talk to him.

They were just finishing serving lunch and I saw there was many users leaving the house.

It was already early afternoon and I was hungry,cold and with 50 korun (2 euro) in my pocket so I decided to go to day shelter of NADAJE and have lunch there and shower if possible.

IMGP1407IMGP1406When I arrived there was a big queue so I waited for half an hour and asked the gentleman on the door if I can use their services as a foreigner for a day. He said no problem and gave me a ticket that allowed me to get free lunch, shower and some clothes if I need. I had sausage stew and a shower. In front of me in shower line was an old man who has obviously lived on a street for many years. It took him more then 20 minutes to get ready for shower and when I saw his legs and feet, the reality of being homeless strike me hard. I decided to take a photo of his feet while he was having a shower. I am posting it here as a clear example what happens to people on the street and I don’t mean to be disrespectful to him or others that I saw in the line there.

Evelyn waited outside so she was happy to see me coming back. As we didn’t have anything organised to sleep in Prague that night and I was almost without money I decided to get on a train in direction of BRNO.

IMGP1411IMGP1416IMGP1418IMGP1419We had to make few stops as I couldn’t afford to buy tickets. I did end up buying one ticket for a short distance ride to Zdar nad Sazavou which I later found has an Unesco heritage pilgirmage church.

IMGP1422IMGP1423While we were changing trains I got a credit top up from a friend in France which helped a lot as Adrian(our host in Wroclaw) gave me the address of couch surfing meeting in Brno.  We arrived to BRNO around 9pm and after searching for awhile we got to couch surfing meeting in a cool bar.

IMGP1425There Evelyn quickly made new friends and I exchange stories with people.A nice Italian guy bought me a beer and  Anna asked me do we have anywhere to sleep and as I said no, she offered a bed in her dormitory room. So this was truly LAST MINUTE COUCH😀

After such an eventful day I was so grateful for a warm bed and I slept like a baby and so did Evelyn… like a puppy😀😛