In this coffee shop we got information about Armee du Salut.IMGP0060

After a enjoyable morning stroll, we set off to try and talk to someone in Armee du Salut.IMGP0074

And that is when this trip really kicks off in terms of our mission.

As I have a lot of recorded audio material that will need editing and approval from all the people interviewed, I wan’t be posting any of them until after the trip.

I have first talked to Anne-Marie who was very kind and really opened her heart and shared her story.

IMGP0116

Armee du Salut in Geneve runs a Le Phare center for people who are migrants or homeless or in any way in need of help as they arrive to Geneve. They are opened from 11 to 17, Tuesday to Friday and on Sunday. They provide a very good and substantial lunch and also free tea and coffee to people from many different parts of the world. They specially help Latinos as many of them have arrived in Geneve in last two years, with the crisis in Spain getting worse. Except the lunch they provide free French lessons and also help people with any issues regarding their status and rights in Switzerland.

I have met some great people there and had a pleasure of interviewing and talking with pastor Andi and his wife Anne-Marie, Flavio from Bolivia,Denise from Switzerland, Kiki from Macedonia and few other people as on both days I had a lunch there.

Kiki speaks 11 languages!!! I was amazed how she alternated from one language to another with ease. She has done an interview with Flavio and I was just recording.

IMGP0128IMGP0124

Flavio was very interesting man with a lot of ideas and I am looking forward to share his story after editing the recording. Denise helped when I was trying to explain to Flavio that I would like to interview him🙂

All in all 2 and a half days spent in Geneve were so inspiring and I am so grateful for meeting all these wonderful people.

I am hoping I will have a chance to see them again soon.

Next post… what happened in Lausanne?…